© 2014 Clerk & Comptroller, Palm Beach County

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email
address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic
email to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Go back to: Home / Court Services / Traffic Violations

Traffic Violations

RED LIGHT CAMERA VIOLATIONS

On July 1, 2010, a bill went into effect creating Florida Statute 316.0083, which established a procedure related to Red Light Camera violations.

A Notice of Infraction will be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle within 30 days after the offense. The owner has 30 days after receiving the notification to either:

  1. Pay the penalty of $158 directly to the county/municipal entity sending the notice.
  2. Submit an affidavit to the entity sending the notice claiming one of the following exemptions:
  • The driver was trying to yield the right of way to an emergency vehicle or as part of a funeral procession.
  • The driver passed through the intersection at the directions of law enforcement.
  • The motor vehicle was in the care, custody or control of another person, in which case the owner must provide additional information identifying the driver or proving theft of the vehicle.  If the vehicle owner identifies another person as the driver, that driver may receive an infraction notice.
  • The driver has already received a citation from a law enforcement officer for the infraction captured by the red light camera.

If the payment or affidavit has not been submitted within the required 30 days, the original county/municipal infraction will become a Red Light Traffic Citation with a higher fine.  The vehicle owner will receive this citation by mail and will have 30 days to take one of the following actions with the office of the Clerk & Comptroller:

  • Pay $264, which includes additional court fees.
  • Plead Not Guilty in writing, submit it to any Clerk & Comptroller office location listed below, and request a court date.  At the court hearing, if you are found guilty of the offense, the court may assess a penalty up to $500, plus court costs of $106.

If you do not pay the citation or plead not guilty within 30 days after the citation is issued, your license will be suspended and additional fees and costs will be assessed.


Sharon Bock,
Clerk & Comptroller
205 N. Dixie Hwy., 2nd Floor, Room 2.23
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

Main Courthouse Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 3544
West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-3544

 

Sharon Bock, Clerk & Comptroller
South County Branch
200 West Atlantic Avenue
Room 150
Delray Beach, Florida 33444-3694

 

Sharon Bock, Clerk & ComptrollerNorth County Branch3188 PGA Blvd., Room 1210
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410


Sharon Bock, Clerk & Comptroller
West County Branch
2950 State Road 15, Room S-100
Belle Glade, FL 33430

For USPS Express, Priority or Certified Mail (signature required) to the West County Branch, send to:
P.O. Box 4115, West Palm Beach, FL 33402

 

Sharon Bock, Clerk & Comptroller
Midwestern Communities Service Center
200 Civic Center Way, Suite 500
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411

 

Traffic Violations

Contact Information

(561) 355-2994
Email Us
Traffic Ticket Payments
Fees & Costs
Time-Saving Tips