© 2014 Clerk & Comptroller, Palm Beach County

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email
address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic
email to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Go back to: Home / Court Services / Traffic Violations

Traffic Violations

Online traffic ticket payments, will be unavailable from 8:00 P.M. - 8:30 P.M., Thursday, October 23 due to maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Within 30 days of receiving a citation, the Clerk’s office must receive written notice of how you choose to satisfy your citation. Failure to comply will result in your driver's license being suspended and additional costs assessed.

To find out what you owe for your traffic ticket, please review Fees & Costs or call (561) 355-2994.

Cited for no proof of insurance? Drivers who receive citations for failing to provide proof of insurance to a police officer may have the citation dismissed for $10 if they can prove they had valid insurance for the vehicle listed on the citation at the time the citation was issued. That proof (such as a photocopy) must be presented to the Clerk & Comptroller within 30 days of receiving a citation. Failure to do so within 30 days will result in a $116 fine, plus applicable late fees, and suspension of your driver’s license. You will also be prevented from renewing your vehicle registration. In order to reinstate your driver’s license or renew your registration, you must pay a $150 reinstatement fee for a first offense and provide proof of insurance to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Subsequent violations will result in a $250 reinstatement fee.

Cited for no driver’s license in possession or driver’s license/registration expired (less than 6 months)?  You must provide proof (such as a photocopy) and payment according to the Fees & Costs.

Defective equipment charged under F. S. 316.610 or 316.2935: if corrected within 30 days and certified as corrected by a police officer or sheriff on the affidavit on the back of your yellow citation, you will have no points assessed and the total fee will be according to the Fees & Costs.

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles Driver License Check: Enter your driver license number to see if you are eligible to attend driver improvement school, have unpaid citations or suspensions, or to inquire if your driver license is valid.



Traffic Ticket Payments

Instructions for paying tickets online, by mail or in person at courthouse locations.

 

Red Light Camera Violations

Information about Red Light Camera Violations received in the mail.

 

Traffic School

Guidelines for attending traffic school and withholding points from your license.

 

 

Contesting a Traffic Ticket

To plead Not Guilty and request a hearing for a traffic infraction, you must submit your request in writing or online.

Handicap Parking Tickets

Information about handicap parking tickets issued by the Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office.

Information for Law Enforcement Officers

The Clerk & Comptroller's office provides law enforcement agencies throughout Palm Beach County with Traffic Citation Guides designed to assist the drivers in the payment and processing of their traffic citations.